Even though the petition for admission into the Union resulted in bills being introduced into both houses of Congress, they failed to pass an enabling act for Wyoming. This did not deter the leaders of the territory, including Governor Francis E. Warren, as they decided to proceed anyway. A vote of the territory resulted in 55 delegates to Wyoming’s Constitutional Convention, of which 49 of them took part in drafting the constitution during September, 1889. Article I of Wyoming's Constitution is know as the Declaration of Rights. The voters approved the Constitution in a vote on November 5th and in December both houses of Congress had Bills introduced for Wyoming’s statehood. On July 10, 1890, President Benjamin Harrison signed the bill which created the new state of Wyoming, the 44th state in the United States of America. The text of both the Declaration of Rights (Article I of the Constitution) and the statehood Bill appeared in the July 20, 1890 Wyoming Commonwealth. Though the titles of the sections of the Declaration of Rights did not appear in the newspaper, we have added them for context. Please click on the links below to view the text of these documents.

Declaration of Rights            Wyoming's Statehood Bill          Telegram from Rep. J. M. Carey